SRFA to have only one division this season

Part of last season SRFL action

Southern Region Football Association (SRFA) has announced that the Nsejerre League will only have one division instead of the planned three.
SRFA chairperson Raphael Humba attributed the development to low registration of teams.
The league was officially launched on Sunday in Zomba where last season’s Premier Division runners-up Cobbe were held to a 4-all draw by Max Bullets who finished third.
“The plan was to have three divisions—Premier, Division 1 and Division 2—but with the lukewarm response to the registration process, we have no choice but to have just one division and that is the Premier Division,” said Humba.
He said they expect to have 20 teams or less this season.
“Only about 19 teams have registered including just a few from Division One which means, even them, will play in the Premier Division,” said Humba.
The SRFA chairperson said it was disappointing that even after extending the grace period for registration, teams were still not coming up to register.
He also announced that sponsors of the league, Nsejjere Sports and Casual Wear have committed K10 million sponsorship.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories