Charity Shield Statistics


In 2023 ootball Association of Malawi (FAM) and NBS Bank donated K30.5 million realised from the 2023 NBS Bank Charity Shield match to Tropical Cyclone Freddy victims and Flames Legends.

FAM divided the beneficiaries into four categories: football legends, football coaches whose houses were damaged, football players and some affected families from Mtauchira Village, Traditional Authority Likoswe in Chiradzulu.

Former Flames goalkeepers Clement ‘Chimbalame’ Mkwalula and the late Boniface Maganga, through his family, became the first beneficiaries of the legends programmes got K1.5 million and K1 million respectively.

The second category of beneficiaries targeted coaches and players who were affected by the tragedy. FCB Nyasa Bullets Reserves and Malawi U17 National Team Assistant Coach Enos Chatama, Chitipa United mentor McDonald Mtetemera and the Malawi National Beach Soccer team captain Sandram Saddi, whose houses were affected by Cyclone Freddy also received 1K1 Million each.

lastly, over K23 million has been sent to Malawi Red Cross Society, who will lead the construction of low-cost houses for four families that lost their houses to the Cyclone in Mtauchira Village, TA Likoswe, Chiradzulu, and the family of under U-16 football player Mahara Mpholiwa, who lost his life in Chilobwe Township, Blantyre.


After missing out in 2020 and 2021 due to Covid 19 the Shield returned in 2022 Under NBS bank sponsorship. The proceeds from the 2022 edition were used to purchase and donate MK 10.3 million kwacha worth of food items to communities affected by tropical cyclone ANA in Chikwawa district.

The donation was made through Malawi Red Cross Society- MRCS with the main event taking place at Nthumba camp, Group Village Headman Fombe in the area of Traditional Authority Kasisi.

The initiative reached 986 households from 4 camps namely Nthumba, Tomali, Medrum and Nanchichi, translating into a total of 4930 beneficiaries.Each family recieved 7 packets of soya pieces, 2 kgs of likuni phala and 20 kgs of maize flour.

2020 - 2021

The tournament will be held in due to Covid-19.  


Nyasa Big Bullets continued to dominate the FAM Charity Shield when they won it for fourth time in a row during the two-day event at the Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre in April 2019.

Bullets won it in style as they defeated their arch rivals Mighty Be Forward Wanderers 1-0 courtesy of a Chiukepo Msowoya strike in the first Blantyre derby of the season as the Season opener event was hosted at the Kamuzu Stadium for the first time.

All the three previous events were held in Lilongwe.

The Shield, brought together four teams, TNM Super League Champions Nyasa Big Bullets, Fisd Challenge Cup winners Be Forward Wanderers, Airtel Top 8 Tournament champions Blue Eagles and Carlsberg Cup victors Masters Security FC.

In the semifinals Wanderers saw off Masters security 4-0 in the semifinals while Bullets beat Blue Eagles 2-1.

Eagles needed penalties to edge Masters in the match for third place while a Chiukepo Msowoya’s lone strike in the final gave Bullets the much-needed boost ahead of the season kick off.

Day One

Semifinal 1 – Saturday March 30th ,2019- Kamuzu Stadium, Blantyre
Be Forward Wanderers 4 (Francis Mlimbika, Babatunde Adepoju, Mike Kaziputa) Masters Security 0

Semifinal 2 – Saturday March 30th ,2019- Kamuzu Stadium, Blantyre
Nyasa Big Bullets 2 Blue Eagles 1

Day Two

Match for Third place – Sunday March 31st,2019- Kamuzu Stadium, Blantyre
Blue Eagles 0 Masters Security 0 (Eagles win 5-3 on Penalties)

Final – Sunday March 31, 2019- Kamuzu Stadium
Nyasa Big Bullets 1 (Chiukepo Msowoya 63,’) Be Forward Wanderers 0


In 2018 the format was changed as the competition turned into a two-day event which involved four teams who were previous season’s Champions of the elite Competitions namely the Airtel Top 8, The FISD Challenge Cup and the TNM Super League and the Super League Runners Up.

Silver Strikers as Airtel Top 8 champions made their debut in the competition while Bullets as Carlsberg Cup Champions, Kamuzu Barracks as FDISD Cup winners and Be Forward Wanderers as Super League Championship also qualified for the competition.

The Competitions was hosted at Bingu National Stadium for the first time.

Semifinal 1 – Saturday 7th April 2018- BNS, Lilongwe
Nyasa Big Bullets 2 (Bright Phiri 46’, Chiukepo Msowoya 84’) Kamuzu Barracks 1 (Ndaona Daisi 34th)

Semifinal 2 – Saturday 7th April 2018- BNS, Lilongwe
Silver Strikers 2 (Mphatso Phillimon 3’, Timothy Chitedze 42’) Be Forward Wanderers 0

Match for third Place- Sunday 8th April 2018- BNS, Lilongwe
Kamuzu Barracks 1(Diouf Simaone ’64) Be Forward Wanderers 0

FINAL – Nyasa Big Bullets 3 (Chiukepo Msowoya 5’, 43’, Precious Phiri 59’)


Nyasa Big Bullets mate their arch rivals Be Forward Wanderers in the inaugural showpiece in 2016. The match took place on Saturday April 9, 2016. Bullets qualified as League Champions while Wanderers made it as National Cup (Carlsberg Cup) Champions.

Bullk2ets won the match 2-0 with goals from Muhamad Sulumba and Chiukepo Msowoya


In 2017 Bullets who had won the Presidential Cup, as the national Cup in 2016, found their way back into the Charity Shield which was played at the CIVO Stadium yet again. This time around they faced Kamuzu Barracks who had shocked the national the previous year with their first ever Super League triumph.

Bullets defended their Shield title with 3-1 victory over the Soldiers. Muhamad Sulumba scored a brace with veteran Fischer Kondowe scoring the other. Mustapha Salimu scored the consolation for KB.