BT Zero win FAM WC

Blantyre Zero produced a vintage performance to be crowned 2021 Fam Women’s National Championship winners after beating DD Sunshine 3-1 at Civo Stadium in Lilongwe Sunday.

The victory ended Sunshine’s six-year dominance in women’s football.

From the word go, Zero played with a purpose and dominated the match, with Zainab Kapanda, Emily Jossam, Mary Chabvinda on top of their game.

Sunshine did not come to the party and they were second on the ball for the better part of the game.

Chabvinda, who netted a brace, broke the deadlock after 12 minutes with a neat finish, beating goalkeeper Ruth Mhango.

Limbikani Chikupira sealed the victory from the penalty spot towards the end of the match whereas substitute Gladys Banda scored Sunshine’s face saver.

The two teams went for recess with Zero having a 2-0 lead.

After pep talk, Sunshine came a changed side and created chances, with Banda pulling a goal back in the second half.

Sunshine pressed hard for the equaliser but it never came.

Instead, Zero hammered the last nail on Sunshine’s coffin after Ruth Nyirongo fouled Kapanda.

After the final whistle, Zero turned Civo Stadium into a theatre of celebrations but Sunshine were crest-fallen as some players tumbled to the surface.

Zero Assistant Coach Charles Lubani was over the moon.

“We came here for revenge. We had a good game plan and the players showed great character,” he said.

Sunshine Coach Andrew Chikhosi admitted that his charges were second best on the day

“We did not play well in the second half. After we conceded two goals, we were playing under pressure and it was difficult for us to come back into the game,” Chikhosi said.

For winning the championship, Zero got K3 million plus a trophy whereas Sunshine received K1.5 million.

Skippers finished third after beating Ascent Soccer 2-1 in an early kickoff at the same venue.

Linda Kasenda grabbed a brace before Catherine Gaudi scored the consolation for Ascent.

Skippers pocketed K750,000 whereas Ascent got K500,000. Vitumbiko Mkandawire of CY Sisters finished as the top goalscorer with 11 goals.

In the media awards, Mabvuto Kambuwe of Times Group was named the best print media journalist of the competition whereas Mwakhele Kaliyande of MIJ was named the best radio presenter.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories