Wanderers make history in Carlsberg Cup

Wanderers captain Francis Mlimbika lifts the Carlsberg trophy

‘Mighty’ Be Forward Wanderers rewrote Carlsberg Cup by becoming the first team not only to retain it but also win it a record three times.
The Nomads came from behind to beat Silver Strikers 6-5 in post-match penalties at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre on Saturday September 10 after playing out a one-all draw in regulation time.
“It is amazing that we have seta new record for the cup. It is not easy to retain a cup and credit should go to the players, management, supporters and trustees,” said Wanderers general secretary Mike Butao.
The Nomads were also the first team to win the cup in 2001 when they beat their age-old rivals Bata Bullets (now Nyasa Big Bullets) 1-0 via the late Hendrix Banda’s strike.
Wanderers won it for the second time last year again against Bullets whom they beat 2-1 in Lilongwe. Bullets were then the defending champions.
In last Saturday’s showdown, Victor ‘Vibre’ Limbani put Silver in the lead barely five minutes into the game after being strategically put through by man-of-the-match Duncan Nyoni.
But the Nomads levelled the scores in the 20th minute when Harry Nyirenda swung up-field to beautifully plant home a Jimmy Zakazaka’s well-curled cross.
The hero of the afternoon for the Lali Lubani Road outfit was no other than ‘keeper Richard Chipuwa who kept out Matheews Sibale’s decisive spot-kick.
Wanderers converted all their spot-kicks through Joseph Kamwendo, Peter Wadabwa, Stanely Sanudi, Francis Mlimbika and Foster Namwela whereas the Bankers scored through captain Lucky Malata, Timothy Chitedze, Blessings Tembo and Mike Mtonyo.
For winning the cup, the Nomads carted home K12 million winner’s purse while Silver got K5 million consolation


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories