RAB Maintains SRFL Sponsorship package

Rab Process Limited has maintained the K14.5 million sponsorship package for the Thumbs Up Southern Region Football League despite that it will only involve the Premier Division .

The SRFL, which was not played the whole of 2020 due to Covid-19, is due to kick off during the first week of May behind closed doors and will not include the Division One.

Speaking on the sidelines of the draw for the restructured SRFL on Thursday afternoon at the Mpira Village in Chiwembe, Rab’s marketing Manager Andrew Luka said his company is committed to help SRFL products shine at the top level.

“We are very excited to have the League back because there has been no Football in the Region for a long time. So we are more than ready to sponsor the League. We are still committed to this league and want to see its fruits that is why we have maintained the sponsorship package even though they are playing fewer games and behind closed doors,” said Luka.

Southern Region Football Association Chairperson Raphael Humba urged the teams to follow all the Covid-19 preventive measures when the League restarts next month.

“We had an orientation with the teams last week and by now they all know how important it is to play in the safest way possible if the games are to continue so today was just want to emphasise on the need to follow the measures.

“With the new format, we expect a very competitive season because every team in the group stage will be aiming to qualify for the quarterfinals and then proceed to Semifinals and the final match,” said Humba.

The Premier Division has been restructured from a normal 20 team round robin format to a two phase format involving group stages and knockout phase to ensure the League catches up with the bridge season set to end in August.

For the first stage, the 20 teams have been drawn into four groups of five teams with top two teams from each group qualifying for the knockout stage.

The Champions will go home with a sum of K2.5 Million and the runners will pocket K1.5 Million while third placed and fourth placed teams will get K1 Million and K500, 000 respectively. This year’s Top Goal Scorer will be awarded with a sum of K150, 000.

Below is the full draw:

Group 1

Nyasa Big Bullets Reserve

Neno Giants

Polytechnic FC

Wizards FC

Bangwe All Stars

Group 2

Sable Farming

Zomba Airbase

Mangochi United

Mighty Wanderers Reserve

Changalume Barracks

Group 3

Blantyre City FC

Prison United

Immigration FC

Maxsteffords FC

The Boys FC

Group 4

MDF Marine

Chinamwali Stars

Nyasa United

Fomo fc

White Eagles


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories