Mwase names COSAFA Provisional squad

Flames coach Meck Mwase has named a 39-man provisional squad that will go in camp at the Mpira Village in Blantyre on Monday June 28,2021 in preparation for the 2021 COSAFA Cup to be held in South Africa next month.

Mwase has recalled strikers Zicco Mkanda and Muhamad Sulumba and Mozambique based midfielder Ndaziona Chatsalira who last played for the Flames in 2017, 2019 and 2014 respectively.

Chatsalira is one of the four players who play outside the country in the squad alongside Taonga Chimodzi, Schumacker Kuwali, Khuda Muyaba and Dennis Chembezi.

Nyasa Big Bullets striker Hassan Kajoke, who was recently dropped on disciplinary grounds, has also found his way back into the squad.

Mwase has also given maiden call ups to 10 players who are enjoying good form in the TNM Super League.

They include goalkeepers Christopher Mikuwa of Mighty Tigers and Nyasa Big Bullets’ Richard Chimbamba; Red Lions defender Pilirani Thulu; Midfielders Anthony Mfune, Chikondi Kamanga, Lackson Mwale, Blessings Mpokera and Micheck Seleman and strikers Thoko Harrison and Gadik Chirwa.

The Flames are in COSAFA’s group B alongside defending champions Zambia, Madagascar and Comoros.

The team will leave for South Africa on Monday July 5 and will start their campaign against Madagascar on July 7, 2021.  

 The following is the full squad:


  1. Brighton Munthali              – Silver Strikers
  2. Enerst Kakhobwe               – Nyasa Big Bullets
  3. William Thole                      -Wanderers
  4. Christopher Mikuwa            – Tigers
  5. Richard Chimbamba            – Nyasa Big Bullets


  1. Stanley Sanudi                    – Wanderers
  2. Nickson Nyasulu                 – Nyasa Big Bullets
  3. Paul Ndhlovu                      – MAFCO
  4. Peter Cholopi                      – Wanderers
  5. Erick Kawonga                    – Nyasa Big Bullets
  6. Gomezgani Chirwa              – Nyasa Big Bullets
  7. Nickson Mwale                    – Silver Strikers
  8. Pilirani Thulu                      – Red Lions
  9. Dennis Chembezi                – Polokwane City


  1. Chimwemwe Idana              – Nyasa Big Bullets
  2. Mike Mkwate                       – Nyasa Big Bullets
  3. Rafick Namwera                  – Wanderers
  4. Duncan Nyoni                     – Silver Strikers
  5. Yamikani Chester               – Wanderers
  6. Chikoti Chirwa                   – Red Lions
  7. Vitumbiko Kumwenda        – Wanderers
  8. Chikondi Kamanga             – Silver Strikers
  9. Micium Mhone                   – Blue Eagles
  10. Patrick Banda                – Ekwendeni Hammers
  11. Lackson Mwale               – CIVO
  12. Anthony Mfune               – Karonga United
  13. Misheke Selemani           – Nyasa Big Bullets
  14. Blessings Mpokera          – Nyasa Big Bullets
  15. Taonga Chimodzi           -Omon Aradippou
  16. Ndaziona Chatsalira       -Ferreviario de Nacala


  1. Hassan Kajoke                    – Nyasa Big Bullets
  2. Maxwell Phodo                    – Silver Strikers
  3. Stain Davie                         – Silver Strikers
  4. Sulumba Muhamed            – CIVO
  5. Gadik Chirwa                      – Blue Eagles
  6. Ziko Mkanda                       – Nyasa Big Bullets
  7. Thoko Harrison                   – Karonga United
  8. Khuda Muyaba                   – Polokwane City
  9. Schumacker Kuwali            – UD Songo


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories