Malawi Under-20 start with win

Malawi (Safuli 33’, Saviel 56’, 59’) 3-2 (Mapuwa 42’,63rd) Zimbabwe

Malawi Under-20 National Football Team have started the Four Nations Tournament with a 3-2 victory over Zimbabwe at Silver Stadium in Lilongwe.

The match started slowly with both Malawi goalkeeper Amos Sande and Zimbabwe’s Joseph Kaunda having a quiet game in the opening of the match as they were not tested.

But just after half hour mark, the game exploded into life as Madalitso Safuli gave Malawi the lead in the 33rd minute.
Mwisho Mhango should have doubled the lead in the 35th minute but his well taken set-piece hit the corner of the upright with Kaunda well beaten.

Malawi’s goal forced Zimbabwe to come out of their shell, calling Sande to make a crucial save to deny Zimbabwe’s Prince Ndhlovu in one-verses-one situation.

Malawi’s Mhango also came knocking in the visitors’ goal area with a dangerous header which hit the post.
Zimbabwe kept on pressing for an equaliser and they soon levelled through Denzel Mapuwa in the 42nd minute following a blunder from right back Kondwani Tebulo, as the first-half ended with the two sides tied one-all.

But two quick goals from Emmanuel Saviel in the 56th minute and 59th minute handed Malawi a 3-1 lead with 25 minute left to play.

Relentless Zimbabwe still managed to pull one back through Mapuwa, who completed a brace in the 63rd minute, but they could not get a third goal to level the scores as it ended in favour of the hosts.

Three teams, namely the hosts, Zimbabwe and Kenya are participating in the round robin format tourney and the team with highest points will carry the day. This means Malawi has topped the pool.

Kenya and Zimbabwe clash on Friday before Malawi take on Kenya in the last fixture on Sunday.

Malawi First XI
Amos Sande (GK), Washali Jaziya, Hermas Masinja, Kondwani Tebulo, Edward Thengo, Oscar Petulo, Madalitso Safuli, Mwisho Mhango, Daniel Kudonto, Chifunilo Kamenya, Emmanuel Saviel

Zimbabwe First XI
Joseph Kaunda, Mvelo Khoza, Allan Karakadzai, Allan Chapinduka, Antonio Alvin, Denzel Mapuwa, Onesimo Hlabano, Prince Ndlovu, Nisbet Muzenda, Morris Musamba, Prince Madondo.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories