Mabedi gets down to work as he names provisional squad for Ethiopia match

The newly appointed Flames caretaker coach Patrick Mabedi on Friday morning got down to work when he named a 30-member provisional squad of local-based players  to start preparations for next month’s 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Ethiopia.

Mabedi has included 11 new faces in the squad namely Tigers Goalkeeper Innocent Nyasulu, Blue Eagles defenders Macdonald Lameck and Jacob Robert, Civil Service United’s Timothy Silwimba, Mighty Tigers’ Kelvin Banda and Bangwe All Stars midfielders Chikumbutso Salima and Robert Saizi. Others are Civil Service United’s midfielder Lloyd Aaron, Silver Strikers’ Chikondi Kamanga as we as strikers Alfred Sapanga and Clement Nyondo from Red Lions and Dedza Dynamos respectively.

The former Flames captain has also named Under 17 national football team coach Deklerk Msakakuona as his 1st Assistant Coach  with Blue Eagles Coach Eliya Kananji as second assistant.

Victor Mphande has been maintained as goalkeepers’ trainer while Peter Mgangira is the new Physical Fitness trainer just like Dexter Killi as physiotherapist.

Mabedi has included Aubrey Nankhuni and Chancy Gondwe as Technical Adviser and Chaplain respectively while Levison Mwale and Lawrence Waya have been retained as team doctor and  Team Analyst respectively.

Speaking at a conference on Friday morning Mabedi said the first phase of the team’s camp will be done for three days per week after which the players will be released on Wednesday afternoon to concentrate on their teams’ weekend assignment.

He added that the players have been selected based on their current form and performance in the Super League matches.

The Flames are expected to play Ethiopia in Mozambique on June 20.

Meanwhile, Mabedi is expected to name the list of foreign based players for the assignment a week before the June international window ahead of the assignment.

Below is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali (Blue Eagles), William Thole (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Innocent Nyasulu (Mighty Tigers), Clever Mkungula (Nyasa Big Bullets).

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Mark Fodya (Silver Strikers), Macdonald Lameck (Blue Eagles), Timothy Silwimba (Civil Service United), Jacob Robert (Blue Eagles), Nickson Mwase (Silver Strikers), Lawrence Chaziya (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Kelvin Banda (Mighty Tigers), Blessings Mpokera (Nyasa Big Bullets), Paul Ndhlovu (MAFCO).

Midfielders: Chikumbutso Salima (Bangwe All Stars), Misheck Botoman (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Alick Lungu (Nyasa Big Bullets), Robert Saizi (Bangwe All Stars), Lanjesi Nkhoma (Nyasa Big Bullets), Frank Willard (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chawanangwa Gumbo (Nyasa Big Bullets), Lloyd Aaron (Civil Service United), Chimwemwe Idana (Silver Strikers), Chikondi Kamanga (Silver Strikers), Patrick Macheso (Silver Strikers)

Strikers: Christopher Kumwembe (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Gaddie Chirwa (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Mphatso Kamanga (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers, (Alfred Sapanga (Red Lions), Clement Nyondo (Dedza Dynamos).

Technical panel

Head Coach: Patrick Mabedi

1st Assistant Coach: Deklerk Msakakuona

2nd Assistant Coach: Eliah Kananji

Goalkeeper Coach: Victor Mphande

Physical Training Coach: Peter Mgangira

Physiotherapist: Dexter Killi

Team Doctor: Levison Mwale

Team Analyst: Lawrence Waya

Technical Support Manager: James Sangala

Assistant Technical Support Manager: Steve Madeira

Kit Master: Richard Justin

Technical Advisor: Aubrey Nankhuni

Chaplain: Chancy Gondwe


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories