FAM National Women’s Championship semifinal preview

The 2022 FAM National Women’s Championship is back in action after a one week break with two semifinal matches lined up at Mpira Stadium this morning.

Group A leaders Nyasa Big Bullets (NBB) Women will take on Group B runners up Ascent Academy in the first match which will kick off at 11:00hrs.

This will be a repeat of last year’s semifinal as the two teams met at the same venue in a match which NBB Women, then Blantyre Zero, won 6-5 on post match penalties after a goalless draw.

NBB went on to lift the inaugural trophy after a 3-1 victory over DD Sunshine in the final.

The defending champions will be going into the semifinal with a 100 percent winning record having amassed 12 points from their four group stage matches while Ascent got 8 points from the same number of matches having won two and drew two.

Both teams have scored 15 goals in the group stages and are the competition’s highest scoring teams so far.

The match will also see a competition in the fight for the Golden Boot award between NBB Women’s Vanessa Chikupira who currently leads the scorers’ chart with 10 while and Ascent’s Rose Kabzere who is the second leading goal scorer with eight goals.

Later on at 2:30 , Ntopwa will face last year’s finalists DD Sunshine, in another high profile match for the day.

Ntopwa goes into the semis unbeaten with 10 points having won three games and drew one as they finished top of Group B while DD Sunshine came second in Group A after three wins and a loss in the group stage.

The two sides last met in the 2019 Presidential Championship semifinals at the same venue as DD Sunshine beat Ntopwa 1-0 courtesy of Gladys Banda’s strike.

In the 20 matches played in the competition’s group stages, 86 goals have been scored with NBB Women and Ascent being the most scoring teams with 15 goals each.

DD Sunshine have the most clean sheets having not conceded in their three outings and only one match involving Ascent Academy and Civil Service United Women produced no goals.

This year’s national final is scheduled to take place at Mpira Stadium in Blantyre on May 15th 2023.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories