Cosafa to have new champions

Gerald Phiri Junior in action against Mozambique

There also will be a new champion in 2015 with none of the competition’s previous winners – Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa or Angola having made it to the semifinals.
The Plate semifinals will be played first on Wednesday though and there Zambia will tackle Ghana in a colossal tie, while South Africa meet Malawi who lost to Mozambique
The clash between Mozambique and Malawi had everything, including two own goals scored by the Flames!
Captain Lucky Malata put through his own net on 10 minutes to give Mozambique the lead, but Malawi had seemingly turned the game on its head when Muhammad Sulumba equalized with a superb header from a corner, and then Limbikani Mzava lashed home a penalty after a foul on John Banda.
That was in the final minute of the game, but there was still more drama when Mzava put the ball into his own net in injury-time and Mozambique forced the game to penalties.
After spurning one opportunity to win the shoot-out, Mozambique final did claim a 5-4 victory to put them into the semifinals.
Ghana 1 (Darkwah 37’) Madagascar 2 (Randriamanjaka 28’, Simouri 90’)
Mozambique 2 (Malata 10’og, Mzava 90’og) Malawi 2 (Sulumba 51’, Mzava 90’pen) – Mozambique win 5-4 on pens
Zambia vs Ghana @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium (17h00 local, 15h00 GMT)
South Africa vs >>>>>> @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium (19h30 local, 17h30 GMT)
Group A                               P             W           D             L              GF          GA          Pts
                               3              2              1              0              6              1              7
Zimbabwe                          3              2              0              1              4              4              6
Mauritius                            3              1              0              2              1              4              3
Seychelles                          3              0              1              2              0              2              1
Group B                               P             W           D             L              GF          GA          Pts
Madagascar                        3              2              1              0              5              2              7
Swaziland                           3              2              1              0              4              1              7
Lesotho                                3              1              0              2              2              4              3
3              0              0              3              0              4              0
Matches Played: 16
Goals scored: 29
Biggest victory: Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)
Most goals in a game: 5 – Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)
3 goals – Michel Randriamanjaka (Madagascar)
2 –
Deon Hotto (Namibia), Benson Shilongo (Namibia)
– Talent Chawaphiwa (Zimbabwe), Ronald Chitiyo (Zimbabwe), Daniel Darkwah (Ghana), Chris Katjiukua (Namibia), Jeremea Kamela (Lesotho), Sifiso Mabila (Swaziland), Raphael Manuvire (Zimbabwe), Mthunzi Mkhontfo (Swaziland), Limbikani Mzava (Malawi), Sabelo Ndzinisa (Swaziland), Lantonirina Rabehasinmbola (Madagascar), Martin Rakotoharimalala (Madagascar), Carlos Rusere (Zimbabwe), Xolani Sibandze (Swaziland), Olivier Simouri (Madagascar), Jean-Pierre Sophie (Mauritius), Muhammad Sulumba (Malawi), Thapelo Tale (Lesotho), Sadney Urikhob (Namibia), Sarivahy Vombola (Madagascar)
Own goals – Lucky Malata (Malawi), Limbikani Mzava (Malawi)


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories