Civo cruise to FDH round of 16

Civil Service United advanced to FDH Bank Cup Round of 16 following 5-1 demolition of Chihame All Stars at Civo Stadium in the only match played on Tuesday.

This means Civil will face Mighty Tigers after the KauKau boys defeated Mitundu Baptist 3-1 at the same venue on Saturday.

Foster Biton (brace), Emmanuel Saviel, Righteous Banda and an own goal from Isaac Mwale was all what Civil needed to book a spot in the Round of 16 while Pod Gondwe scored a consolation for Chihame from the penalty spot.

The margin could have been on the higher side but Civil wasted several scoring opportunities especially in the first half.

Civil went for recess with a 2-0 lead thanks to Banda and Saviel’s goals. But Biton came off the bench to score a brace in the second half after Mwase’s own goal.

Civil coach Abasi Makawa, despite the win, rued missed chances.

“We could have won with a huge margin but we were wasteful in front of goal. After the changes, the team started playing good football and we scored three goals,” said Makawa.

Makawa said the Round of 16 clash against Tigers, will be difficult as the club aim to end trophy drought.

” Tigers are very good side but we will prepare well for them,” said Makawa.

Chihame coach Chancy Harawa said conceded early as his defenders were jittery.

“We started the match slowly as our players gave Civil too much respect. Despite the loss,there are several positives from the match,” said Harawa.

Civil have joined holders FCB Nyasa Big Bullets, Mighty Mukuru Wanderers, Blue Eagles, Raiply FC, Baka City , Moyale Barracks, Lube Masters, Karonga United and Tigers in the Round of 16.

So far, three second-tier teams Raiply, Eagles and Lube are in the Round of 16 of the 2024 FDH Bank Cup.

However , the pick of the 2024 FDH Bank Cup Round of 16 will be the match between Wanderers and Bullets.

Bullets are the only side that has won the competition twice in three seasons since it started in 2021. They have won it back-to-back in 2022 and 2023. Silver Strikers were inaugural winners in 2021.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories