Chawinga Sisters win China Women’s Super League title

China-based Malawi national women’s team stars Tabitha and Temwa Chawinga have won the 2021 China Taiping Women’s Football League.

The Chawinga sisters’ Wuhan Jiangda have won the title for a second consecutive year.

Wuhan Jiangda claimed the title on Wednesday after a 2-1 victory over Jiangsu Suning courtesy of Wang Shuang’s second half brace while Wu Chengshu scored Jiangsu’s goal.

Scorchers captain Tabitha Chawinga is the League’s top goal scorer having banged nine goals second by her younger sister Temwa Chawinga and Changchun’s forward Rafaelle who have seven goals each.

Reacting to the title and golden boot award, Tabitha said she feels honored to win the league and golden boot and has attributed her success to hard work.

“It wasn’t easy to make it in a new team but the hard working spirit that I had  and the team work with my colleagues made this happen. I am grateful to my teammates and everyone who supported me throughout the season and I will continue working hard for more awards,” she said.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories