Charity Shield Competitions Statistics

Nyasa Big Bullets have dominated the Charity Shield winning in on all the four occasions. They are also the only side to have played in each edition if the competition.


Nyasa Big Bullets mate their arch rivals Be Forward Wanderers in the inaugural showpiece in 2016. The match took place on Saturday April 9, 2016. Bullets qualified as League Champions while Wanderers made it as National Cup (Carlsberg Cup) Champions.
Bullk2ets won the match 2-0 with goals from Muhamad Sulumba and Chiukepo Msowoya


In 2017 Bullets who had won the Presidential Cup, as the national Cup in 2016, found their way back into the Charity Shield which was played at the CIVO Stadium yet again. This time around they faced Kamuzu Barracks who had shocked the national the previous year with their first ever Super League triumph.
Bullets defended their Shield title with 3-1 victory over the Soldiers. Muhamad Sulumba scored a brace with veteran Fischer Kondowe scoring the other. Mustapha Salimu scored the consolation for KB.


In 2018 the format was changed as the competition turned into a two-day event which involved four teams who were previous season’s Champions of the elite Competitions namely the Airtel Top 8, The FISD Challenge Cup and the TNM Super League and the Super League Runners Up.

Silver Strikers as Airtel Top 8 champions made their debut in the competition while Bullets as Carlsberg Cup Champions, Kamuzu Barracks as FDISD Cup winners and Be Forward Wanderers as Super League Championship also qualified for the competition.

The Competitions was hosted at Bingu National Stadium for the first time.

Semifinal 1 – Saturday 7th April 2018- BNS, Lilongwe
Nyasa Big Bullets 2 (Bright Phiri 46’, Chiukepo Msowoya 84’) Kamuzu Barracks 1 (Ndaona Daisi 34th)

Semifinal 2 – Saturday 7th April 2018- BNS, Lilongwe
Silver Strikers 2 (Mphatso Phillimon 3’, Timothy Chitedze 42’) Be Forward Wanderers 0

Match for third Place- Sunday 8th April 2018- BNS, Lilongwe
Kamuzu Barracks 1(Diouf Simaone ’64) Be Forward Wanderers 0

FINAL – Nyasa Big Bullets 3 (Chiukepo Msowoya 5’, 43’, Precious Phiri 59’)


Nyasa Big Bullets continued to dominate the FAM Charity Shield when they won it for fourth time in a row during the two-day event at the Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre in April 2019.

Bullets won it in style as they defeated their arch rivals Mighty Be Forward Wanderers 1-0 courtesy of a Chiukepo Msowoya strike in the first Blantyre derby of the season as the Season opener event was hosted at the Kamuzu Stadium for the first time.

All the three previous events were held in Lilongwe.

The Shield, brought together four teams, TNM Super League Champions Nyasa Big Bullets, Fisd Challenge Cup winners Be Forward Wanderers, Airtel Top 8 Tournament champions Blue Eagles and Carlsberg Cup victors Masters Security FC.

In the semifinals Wanderers saw off Masters security 4-0 in the semifinals while Bullets beat Blue Eagles 2-1.

Eagles needed penalties to edge Masters in the match for third place while a Chiukepo Msowoya’s lone strike in the final gave Bullets the much-needed boost ahead of the season kick off.

Day One

Semifinal 1 – Saturday March 30th ,2019- Kamuzu Stadium, Blantyre
Be Forward Wanderers 4 (Francis Mlimbika, Babatunde Adepoju, Mike Kaziputa) Masters Security 0

Semifinal 2 – Saturday March 30th ,2019- Kamuzu Stadium, Blantyre
Nyasa Big Bullets 2 Blue Eagles 1

Day Two

Match for Third place – Sunday March 31st,2019- Kamuzu Stadium, Blantyre
Blue Eagles 0 Masters Security 0 (Eagles win 5-3 on Penalties)

Final – Sunday March 31, 2019- Kamuzu Stadium
Nyasa Big Bullets 1 (Chiukepo Msowoya 63,’) Be Forward Wanderers 0


The tournament will be held in November 2020.