Bullets dominate Super League awards

TNM Super League champions Nyasa Big Bullets dominated the League’s awards after scoping four accolades at awards gala held on Wednesday night in Blantyre.

Bullets wing back Gomezgani Chirwa was the biggest winner of the night after he was named the 2022 player of the season. The defender  received MK 2 000 000 and a plot courtesy of Ana a Mmudzi.

Chirwa also walked away with the defender of the season award  which came with a K500,000.00 cheque and another plot.

The Peoples team head coach Kalisto Pasuwa was named coach of the season after guiding his side to a fourth consecutive  league title.

Patrick Mwaungulu was named the midfielder of the season after impressing in his debut season following his promotion from the Reserves last year. He scored nine goals and registered 21 assists to his name.

Former Bullets striker Babatunde Adepoju received the Golden Boot award after he scored 18 goals before departing for South Africa where he signed a three-and-a-half-year deal with first division side Venda Football Academy. He walked away with MK 1 million and a plot courtesy of Ana a M’mudzi.

In other awards, Blue Eagles’ Brighton Munthali won the Golden Glove as he kept 13 Clean sheets and helped his team to finish as runners up, twelve months after the Area 30 based side survived relegation on the final day of 2020/21 season. He walked away with MK500 000 and a plot courtesy of Ana a M’mudzi.

Rookie of the season award went to Blue Eagles’ MacDonald Lameck.

In terms of media awards, Mabvuto Kambuwe of Times Group won the Best Analysis (online and print) award, with Joy Ndovi of Nation Publications Limited emerging as the Best Print Journalist.

Steve Liwewe of Malawi Broadcasting Corporation shone in Best Radio Commentary category, with Frank Kandu, from the same institution, emerging as Best Radio Journalist.

Others who were decorated are Best Television Journalist, Idah Mwambazi (Mibawa); Best Online Journalist, Macloyd Kudzingo (Freelancer); Best Photography (Television) Richard Issa (TV Islam); and the Best Photography (still and print) award went to Bobby Kabango of Nation Publications Limited.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories