Bullets crowned Super League champions

Nyasa Big Bullets were on Saturday November 19  crowned 2022 TNM Super League champions at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre.

It is a record 16th league title coming after the red and white side of Blantyre won the championship for fourth consecutive season.

Having been confirmed as champions a week ago when they beat Moyale Barracks 3-1 at the same venue, the People’s Team put the icing on the cake, beating Dedza Dynamos 2-1 in their last match.

Top goal scorer Babatunde Adepoju and Hassan Kajoke were on target for Bullets while Dedza netted through defender Ibrahim Sadick.

The result against Dedza Dynamos means Bullets have finished with 73 points.

In 2021 season they won the league with 62 points while in 2019 they won the championship with 70 points. In 2018 Bullets amassed 71 points to win the league.

The People’s Team have also surpassed last season’s haul of 62 goals, having scored 69.

The other positions in the league were also already confirmed.

Second-placed Blue Eagles were held to a one-draw by Mafco at Nankhaka Stadium in Lilongwe in another dead rubber to finish the season 10 points below the champions.

Kamuzu Barracks already finished on third position with 57 points.

Although Mighty Mukuru Wanderers finished the season with a 1-0 victory over Red Lions at Balaka Stadium, it was just another ceremonial match since the Nomads are stuck on fourth position with 56 points. Silver Strikers are fifth with 51 points.

Zimbabwean tactician Kallisto Pasuwa said it was a tough season despite bagging two trophies this far.


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories