40 U14 boys shortlisted for Luwinga academy trials

A total of 40 boys have been shortlisted from the U14 Nthanda League national finals conducted at Dedza Stadium last Friday to undergo trials to identify pioneers of the Luwinga Inclusive Academy to be launched in Mzuzu.

According to FAM Technical Support Manager James Sangala, the boys, together with others will be invited to Mpira Village for final trials in February.

“We have 40 boys as of now but we will also have others who will be identified through grassroots activities. This is to give chance to the boys who did not play in the league. We expect to bring the boys together at Mpira Village for a final selection exercise in mid-February and from there, we will have the final list of 25 players who will form the Luwinga Inclusive Academy”, he said.

Launched in June 2023 the Nthanda U14 League was played in 18 districts from across the four regions and the 25 best players from each region are the ones who took part in the national finals.

During the games, Southern Region select were outstanding having won all their three games.

In November last year, a delegation from FIFA and the the Agence Francaise de Developmente (AFD) led by FIFA Director Member Association Africa  Gelson Fernandes held a series of meetings with various stakeholders from Ministry of Sports, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Gender, National Youth Football Association, National Football Coaches Association, Unesco and Unicef in the country on the establishment of the Luwinga Inclusive Academy before physically, inspecting the site at the Luwinga Technical Centre.

Below is the list of boys who were identified in Dedza:

Goalkeepers: Adam Dyton (Northern Region), Blessings Maunje (Southern Region)

Defenders: Evance Chimbonga, Prince Mpinganjira, Hope Amos (Centeral Region); Cantious Makawa (Eastern Region); Pilirani Thole, Andrew Njewa, George Mwalwali (Northern Region); Hope Juwani, Gerald Phiri, Precious Gilbert, Khumbo Mhango, Alex Zomba, Blessings Jonathan (Southern Region)

Midfielders: Medson Phiri, Lloyd Chizimba, Yosefe Harrison, Sajan Yahaya (Central Region); Miracle Ndovi, Gift Santos, Prince Maya,ba, Trust Gerald, Nazamu Mtendere (Eastern Region); Danny Kavala (Northern Region); Chisomo Monjeza,  Precious Nkhoma, Joel Yakobe, Yasin Justim, Mukayi Steven, Bannet Mphunga (Southern Region).

Strikers: Chikondi Sitima (Central Region), Alex Kamanga, Alick Mwale, Emmanuel Kanyimbo, Precious Uka, Elias Nyirenda (Northern Region); Mikey Stima, Heshel Makwanje, Owen Kamwiyo (Southern Region).


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories