Flames lose to Kenya

Malawi 0-4 Kenya (Michael Olunga 1′ 4′,Ayub Masika 82′, John Avire 90+4′)

Malawi National Football Team, the Flames have started the Four Nations Tournament on a bad foot, losing 0-4 to Kenya’s Harambee Stars at Bingu National Stadium in a late kick off.

The Flames conceded as early as the first minute of the match as Kenya captain Michael Olunga Ogaga capitalised on Malawi’s lack of composure to fire home at close range.

He came back to haunt Malawi within four minutes this time from the spot after left back Joseph Balakasi foul in the box.

Ayubu Timbe Masika net the third in the 83rd before substitute John Avire netted the fourth.

Malawi missed a penalty in the 69th when Kenya goalkeeper Patrick Mutsotsi Matasi saved Lloyd Aaron’s spot kick.

In a post-match interview Flames coach Patrick Mabedi said his charges were affected by pre-season blues and “didn’t show up”.

“This team didn’t play a competitive match prior to the tournament. The preseason also affected our preparations. Today in we started sluggishly. We were too static. In fact we didn’t show up in the first 25 minutes or so. When we started to get back we had already conceded two goals. It’s not an excuse as we need to start finding solutions,” he said

On his part, Kenya gaffar Engin Firat said were tactically above the Flames in al areas.

“It was a good match for us. We had new four players who really understood our strategy. We were fantastic on the ball and Malawi showed a fighting spirit but we prevailed “If you play positive quality good football the results will come but if you depends on luck you are going nowhere. You have to be focused and we were focused,” he said

He however, said despite the score line “it was difficult game despite the big margin and it was a good experience for us”.

The Flames now face Zambia in the third place play-offs after the Chipolopolo Boys also lost 5-6 to Zimbabwe on post –match penalties following a two-all draw ion regulation time.

This means Kenya and Zimbabwe will clash in the final on Tuesday at the same venue.

Malawi first XI :Brighton Munthali (GK), Stanley Sanudi,Denis Chembezi,Joseph Balakasi,Jubril Okedina,Lloyd Aaron,Chimwemwe Idana,Wisdom Mpinganjira,Robert Saizi,Chawanangwa Kaonga,Gabadihno Mhango

Subs :Innocent Nyasulu,Nixon Mwase,Mwai Hervi Kumwenda,Patrick Macheso,Patrick Mwaungulu,John Banda,Lloyd Njaliwa,Lanjesi Nkhoma,Chifundo Mphasi,Chrispin Mapemba,Yamikani Mologeni,Lawrence Chaziya


Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Recommended Stories